#TABS14 – The TABS Conference – Day 2

The keynote speaker for the conference was Susan Cain, author of Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking. You might have seen her TED Talk, which has been watched over ten million times. She pointed out that school cultures tend to put a heavy emphasis on being extroverted despite the fact that a third to a half of the population are introverted (more precisely, they are on the introverted side of the spectrum; no one is entirely introverted or extroverted). She has some specific advice for schools, and a particular target is group work. Cain is not completely opposed to group work (our students need to be able to work collaboratively), but she points out that studies indicate that all people – extroverts included – brain-storm more effectively alone. She showed video from a study which demonstrated that in groups we tend to take on others’ opinions. She recommends a balance between solo and group work and careful structure of group work so that each student knows his role. She also wants schools to be mindful of how we teach leadership. She drew a contrast between the experience of Corinne, a student who was kicked off her school’s leadership council (despite having created real change) because she was not gregarious enough and a study that identified a large percentage of effective CEOs as introverts. She promotes the “yin and yang” approach to leadership and encourages schools to help the quiet students find a role model. It is not at all surprising that Cain’s remarks struck a chord with me – I am far to the introverted side of the spectrum, but I believe we should all pay attention. I am asking myself to what extent have I been punishing the quiet students (even though I was one), and how can I best allow the introverts to be introverts while still pushing them toward mastery?

I attended an excellent session on professional development. As someone who helps arrange our P.D. events, I was struck by a poster of two bored-looking teachers in folding chairs with the caption: “If I die, I hope it is during (professional development) because the transition would be so subtle.” The goal of the presenters – three of my #TABSchat friends – was to help us design professional development sessions that inspire a bit more enthusiasm. I hope to incorporate some of these ideas at our upcoming meetings, including one generated by our small group reflection. With Susan Cain’s words still ringing in our ears, some of us resolved to make room for introverts – when we break up into groups, for example, there could be a room for folks who would rather consider the topic in solitude.

I also attended a couple of “speed sessions.” One was about retirement planning (do not read anything into that; I am thinking I have more than ten and fewer than twenty years left to go) and the other was on the power of positive psychology in schools. The latter session served to reinforce my interest in pursuing Mindfulness in schools.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *